top of page

That's A Wrap!


As you can probably tell, the long awaited process is finally over. Writing is done, filming is done, editing is done, and now the final product is officially complete and on the web.


So here's a quick little summary of the film intro:

"Bound is a film short about a young girl waking up tied up in a garage with countless wounds, no escape, and a dead body. With little memory of anything, she has to figure out what brought her there, why this is happening, and who is responsible."


Editing this short had moderate difficulty. I struggled with how I wanted the actual piece to look and pondered placing a filter over it; however, some clips would come out too dark. So I decided to leave the shots as they were. It was also difficult adding the conventional intro credits, such as the production company, director, and cast, as well as the actual title of the film itself. I also wish I could've taken a few more shots by the end, but with what I got I think the final project really came through. I was very proud of my music selection and how seamless some of the cuts are, this has by far been one of my best pieces.



1. How does your product use or challenge conventions and how does it represent social groups or issues?

My film intro uses the typical intro conventions of the opening credit sequence: the production company, director, cast, and title. However, the conventions are challenged by a few ways. First of all, this film is being marketed as an independent film, and a chief characteristic is the small number of actors involved. Most films also span several locations, while this one will chiefly take place in a singular garage. This adds creative tension in the storytelling. As for social groups/issues, this piece will deal with discrimination of sexual orientation and gender identity, as well as controversies involving our education and social media in general. This film will connect to themes of bullying and cyber-bullying.


2. How does your product engage with audiences and how would it be distributed as a real media text?

This film intro I created is a suspenseful piece that keeps the audience at the edge of their seats. There are many questions that are raised at the very start of this movie, and each one will be answered within the film in ways that the audience will never see coming. Because the film is a low budget indie film, that attracts a certain edgy audience that differs from typical viewers. However, the action, suspense, drama, and mystery appeals to vast audiences as well because of it's familiar tone and feel and story. The distributor of this film would have to be a company popular with low-budget, thriller films, such as Maxim Media Marketing and Terror Films; both are well versed in these types of films.


3. How did your production skills develop throughout this project?

I've had a reasonable amount of experience when it comes to film-making; writing, editing, shooting, directing, acting, etc. It was quite interesting to have filmed in a singular, small location like a garage, with limited props and such. As a director, blocking the scene was a bit challenging, but after I figured out the placement of the actors, we were set. I definitely learned how to better map out a scene in a given location.



4. How did you integrate technologies - software, hardware, and online - in this project?

I had a simple Sony camcorder for shooting. The bulk of the editing and post-production took place on iMovie, while the music and titles were added through Windows Movie Maker. I luckily had a film score that was royalty-free that I found months ago. I have been waiting to use it for something special, and this was it. As for online, well, this website of course! This blog has helped me so much with understanding the course and planning out my final project.



I want to thank my friends for assisting me in this project, my teacher for.. teaching, and of course, YOU! My reader(s), thank you for accompanying me in this interesting journey through the world of Media Studies. Please, if you haven't, subscribe to my YouTube channel to stay updated on my film-making endeavors and when I release my next projects.


But until then, this is Christopher Beytia, signing off!




 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page