top of page

Brain Storm - Does Lightning Strike Before or After Thunder??


Probably the most difficult thing when it comes to creating any project from scratch is actually coming up with an idea. Concepts and visions pass through like cars at an intersection: crossing, stopping, going, even crashing into each other. Vehicles are not static machines, and neither are ideas, they will keep on changing and developing. One inkling will merge with another, go off into another area of thinking, and as one creates the project in mind, the ideas will change even further. From personal experience (and I can guarantee many filmmakers go through this as well), as they film scenes, a new idea or ideas will emerge, whether it's a new way of shooting the scene, something else to add, or an entire new direction all together. The same goes for editing, as the compilation of shots and angles and scenes may spark new visions of how to piece together the final product. So where am I going with this?

Basically, I'm just making a big 'ol fashioned excuse as to why I haven't come up with anything, and if I do, it will probably change. Is that a bad thing? Well, since the project is due much later, its essential to plan out a good chunk of it before taking off and filming. First it has to be planned, then written (a few drafts may be necessary, as to trim or add fat to the piece), then filmed, then edited. Each of these steps has a planning period as well. Now, what if one doesn't plan as much or at all and just "goes with the flow?" In all honesty, that's not a bad path either. Sometimes, spontaneity may just flourish into fantastic products, and, as mentioned before, during the process new ideas may come to mind. It's all about finding your footing, and once you do, you can decide for yourself which path to take. The planned-to-the-bone path, or the lets-see-how-it-goes path. As long as you have a basic concept, the development of the idea is entirely up to your way of working, planning, and execution.

I have a few ideas in mind. My process thus far has been listening to music that is very reminiscent of a film opening. The only problem with that is 1) obtaining the rights to the song and 2) making sure the film opening doesn't turn into a music video. I once had an idea last year for my final project for my Film class to be a stop-motion short. Now, I've had very minimal experience with this style of storytelling/filmmaking. It's important to not bite off more than you can chew when making a project. If I were to do a stop-motion short for the AICE Media Studies final exam, I should make it imperative to practice that style and experiment to see if I'm efficient - or any good - at it. I'm probably considering doing a film intro more drama or action than anything else. I'm not super well versed in comedies, but on the bright side, this project is just the set up of a fictional feature film. That's an important part to remember, that there is not much rising action, let alone a conclusion. This intro is supposed to be an exposition, a set up for the story to come. Ms. Seiler (our Media Studies teacher) told us to "start with the end in mind," and that's where I flourish more in dramas. I'm just spitballing ideas, nothing concrete enough to even mention, but I'll be sure to record the planning process when I do come up with something.

I'd like to consider myself an organized individual with everything planned ahead of time, but that doesn't mean I won't fall into the void of overwhelming confusion where no idea seems to stick. It's at this time that spontaneity might come in handy. Experiment with writing or filming, perhaps a new point of view can inspire you and help develop the final product to the best of YOUR ability.

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page